The American Swimming Coaches Association is honored to recognize the greatest swimming coaches in the United States, as members of the ASCA Hall of Fame. Inductees date back to 1958 and have developed the most accomplished athletes in our sport; a sport widely considered the greatest amateur sport in the world. These coaches have not only produced world class athletes, but they have in large part created much of the history and success of American Swimming. In addition, they have created programs and developed coaches and methodologies that have truly elevated the sport of swimming in the United States and around the world. It is with immense pride that we recognize the best in our profession.

Nomination Form

Below you will find the criteria for eligibility, the nominating process and application, and our honorees. All nominations must be submitted by a current ASCA member by January 1, 2022 for the Hall of Fame Class of 2022

ASCA Hall of Fame Criteria:
  • Must have coached swimming at the high school, club, and/or college level for a period of 20 years or more.
  • Must be in good standing with ASCA, USA Swimming, and the Center for Safe Sport.
  • May achieve any (3) of the criteria listed below for nomination:
    1. Placing two teams in the Top 10 at the USA Swimming Nationals and/or the top 10 NCAA Division 1 Nationals and/or the Top 2 teams at the NCAA Division II or III Nationals
    2. Coach of Record (at any time in their career) for two years or more of two individual USA summer national champions
    3. Coach of Record(at any time in their career) for two years or more of two individual USA Olympic or World Championships (LC) medalists
    4. Coach of Record(at any time of their career) for two years or more of two World Record Holders (relay members would be in the Olympic Medalist/World Record holder category)
    5. Coach of Record for 5 or more athletes qualifying for the USA Swimming National Junior Team or the era equivalent.
    6. Made a significant contribution to the sport of swimming, community and/or profession.

    Nomination Form

    2021 Inductees
    Coach Cyndi Gallagher Coach Ray Looze Coach Charlie Kennedy

    2019 Inductees

    Coach Jim Ellis Coach John Mattos Coach Kathy McKee Coach Mike Parratto Coach Maureen Sheehan 

    2018 Inductees

    Coach Peter Motekaitis Coach Ed Spencer Coach Gregg Wilson Coach Chuck Riggs

    2017 Inductees

    Bob Mattson Charlie Hodgson Jill Sterkel Jonty Skinner

    2016 Inductees

    Buddy Baarcke George Breen Bob Steele Raymond Woods

    2015 Inductees

    Peter Banks Steve Bultman Chris Davis Raymond B. Essick
    John Leonard      

    2014 Inductees

    Richard Fetters Teri McKeever Pete Morgan  

    2013 Inductees

    Bob Groseth Mike Hastings Don Swartz Penny Taylor  

    2012 Inductees

    Karen Moe Humphreys Jack Ridley Don Sonia Gregg Troy

    2011 Inductees

    George Block Earl Ellis Jay Fitzgerald Jean Freeman
    Bob Miller Jim Wood    

    2010 Inductees

    Jack Bauerle Bob Bowman Jerry Holtrey David Marsh
    David Salo      

    2009 Inductees

    Ron Ballatore Bob Gillett Peter Malone Phil Moriarty
    Jack Nelson Dick Shoulberg    

    2008 Inductees

    Paul Blair Frank Busch Ray Bussard Mary Freeman Kelly Spitzer
    Don LaMont      

    2007 Inductees

    Bud McAllister Bill Peak Jack Simon  

    2006 Inductees

    John Collins Dennis Pursley Murray Stephens  

    2005 Inductees

    Frank Keefe Skip Kenney George McMillion Jim Montrella
    Ed Solotar      

    2004 Inductees

    Bill Rose Don Easterling Jon Urbanchek Dick Hannula
    Frank Elm Richard Jochums    

    2003 Inductees

    Richard Quick Eddie Reese Randy Reese Mark Schubert
    Nort Thornton, Jr.      

    2002 Inductees (Honoring Coaches as Far Back as 1958)

    Dave Armbruster Bill Bachrach Red Barr Dave Beaver
    Ernst Brandsten Stan Brauninger Harry Burke Fred Cady
    George “Dad” Center Sherm Chavoor Jim Clark Jack Cody
    James Counsilman Peter Daland Ray Daughters Johnny Galvich
    Don Gambril George Haines Louis deBreda Handley Robert J. H. Kiphuth
    Gene Lee Matt Mann Charlie McCaffree Harold Minto
    Richard Papenguth Mike Peppe Clarence Pinkston Jim Riley, Sr.
    Tom Robinson Soichi Sakamoto Charles Sava Walt Schlueter
    Charles Silvia Gus Stager Nort Thornton, Sr. Stan Tinkham

    Sponsorship & Partnerships

    Official Sponsors and Partners of the American Swimming Coaches Association

    Join Our Mailing List

    Subscribe and get the latest Swimming Coach news